Prof. Zhong Fang and Prof. Xi Dai won the "Zhou Guangzhao Foundation Award For Basic Sciences"


The 16th annual meeting of China Association for Science and Technology (CAST) was opened on May 24, 2014. The 7th Zhou Guangzhao Foundation Prize for Science and Technology were presented at the opening ceremony, Prof. Zhong Fang and Prof. Xi Dai were conferred the Award for Basic Sciences. Guanhua Xu, who is former Minister of Ministry of Science and Technology of China, Academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences and Acting Chairman of advisory board of Zhou Guangzhao Foundation, presented the award to the winning scientists.


The achievements of Prof. Zhong Fang and Prof. Xi Dai were focused on the theoretical study of novel quantum phenomena, and both of them are important academic leaders in the field of computational condensed matter physics internationally. They developed the theory and corresponding computation methods, and made important contributions in the field of iron-based superconductors, topological insulators, anomalous quantum Hall effect, etc. They predicted several important quantum effects and quantum materials through theoretical calculations, led the research field worldwide and directly pushed the rapid development of related experimental studies, which is one of the few examples of theory-guided experiments in the research field of condensed matter physics. Those achievements won the First Class National Natural Science Award of China, Qiu Shi Outstanding Scientific Research Team Award, Outstanding Science and Technology Achievement Award by Chinese Academy of Sciences and Achievement in Asia Award (Robert T. Poe Prize) by International Organization of Chinese Physicists and Astronomers.


Zhou Guangzhao Foundation was established on June 15, 2005 in Hong Kong by Mr Chung Kin Kwok and his family. Academician Guangzhao Zhou is the permanent honorary president of the foundation council. The prizes are awarded to those outstanding science and technology workers in China once every year.


Prof. Zhong Fang (first left) and Prof. Xi Dai (second left) were in the ceremony.
(source of photo: